Employment Discrimination

Employment discrimination is illegal in the United States, and workers as well as job applicants can sue their employers for failing to protect their employees from discrimination, discriminatory harassment, and retaliation. Employees have a right to be free from a non-discriminatory hostile work environment.

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is the federal agency responsible for enforcing Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the subsequent laws and amendments that prohibit employment discrimination.

Each year, around 100,000 employment discrimination claims are filed with the EEOC by workers across the country. In 2012 the EEOC successfully obtained over $365 million in monetary awards on behalf of the workers who accused their employers of workplace discrimination, harassment, and/or retaliation.

The following are the types of employment discrimination that are illegal and that can form the basis of an EEOC lawsuit:

  • Age Discrimination
  • Disability Discrimination
  • Equal Pay and Compensation Discrimination
  • National Origin Discrimination
  • Pregnancy Discrimination
  • Race Discrimination
  • Religious Discrimination
  • Sex Discrimination
  • Sexual Harassment
  • Retaliation

Click here for more information about the EEOC.

Rate your boss on eBossWatch

Search Jobs
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Disclaimer | Copyright Information

Follow this company and we'll send you an email each time a new review or rating is submitted for this company.
Don't worry, you'll remain anonymous, nobody will know which companies and bosses you are following.

Email Address: